← ALL ATHLETES

brian levine

DOB/Location: April 17, 1991. I was born in White Plains, NY and grew up in the small town of Briarcliff Manor, NY. I love the Hudson Valley!
Years Racing: I did my first sprint the summer after I graduated college - August 2013. I was hooked the moment I came out of the water and have since competed in Olympics, Half-Iron, and Ironman distance races.
Strengths on the course: I was never a swimmer, cyclist, or runner at any competitive level, but I did play lacrosse in college. I'm obsessed with my bike and am still open to any swim tips you might have.
Goals for 2019: I want to lower my personal bests at the 70.3 and Iron distance (sub 10:30?), learn how to better manage my nutrition on race day, have a ton of fun, stay healthy, and most importantly - continue to share my passion for the sport with others and prove to them that triathlon is accessible to everyone.
Nickname: I never truly had a nickname when I was younger. In sports, I was always called by my last name, "Levine." In college, my fraternity brothers called my "Squints" because I can't keep my eyes open when I smile :D
Height: My doctor asked me how tall I thought I was at my last physical. I told him I had been going by 5'8" my entire life. He shook his head and sadly explained I was 5 foot 7 and 3/4 inches.
Favorite Race Moment: Winning the Sleepy Hollow Sprint Triathlon last summer. It's a small local race, but it's in the town over from where I grew up. I had a bunch of friends and family members racing and spectating and it was special to be able to accomplish something like that in front of the hometown crowd. Close runner up: racing Ironman 70.3 Lake Placid 2018 with 12 of my BLT teammates. During summer 2017 I founded a small triathlon community based out of NYC's Upper West Side and it has since grown to over 50 members. Last summer, I coached 11 of them up to their first half Ironman and they all finished happy and healthy!
Favorite Post-Race Food: Pizza.
Favorite thing when not swimming, biking, or running: I love spending time with friends and splurging on tickets to see my favorite bands (John Mayer, The Avett Brothers, Darlingside, etc.). The one family tradition that we uphold is attending the Clearwater Music Festival in Croton-on-Hudson, NY every summer. I try to get out of NYC when I can to go hiking upstate, and I'm attempting to visit at least one new National Park each year (last year was Yellowstone and Grand Teton). I also love a good sci-fi/fantasy novel!
Favorite Food: Baked goods of every variety (I'm going to include pancakes and french toast in this very loose categorization), pizza (see above), apples with almond butter.
Follow along on IG: @brianflevine