← ALL ATHLETES

marty stiegmann

Marty has been very active his entire life and loves sports of any kind. He must have been a Lab in a previous life, because he loves to run, has an attention span of a gnat, and spends the rest of his time napping! He has two speeds; full gas or asleep on the couch!

Marty loves team, as well as individual sports and was immediately hooked when he did his first triathlon. He has competed in over 500 races, 23 World Championships across the globe including 2 trips to Kona. He racks up numerous AG wins every year, has 8 National AG Titles, many years of All-American honors, and earned a Gold Medal at the Duathlon World Championships in Gijon, Spain in 2011. Marty has met some amazing people over the years and started his Tri career in the days where there were no aero bars, cleats, or even Gu! It's been an awesome journey and he is still very passionate about the sport, mentoring others and continually seeking to improve in all disciplines and, of course, upgrade his equipment whenever he can get away with it!

For 2019, Marty will focus on Duathlon the early part of the year and hopes to earn another National Title at Du Nationals in SC. He will then focus on Triathlon and compete at the Sprint, Olympic and Half Iron distances.

Date of Birth/Location: November 25th / Fontana, California
Current Residence: Richmond, VA
Years Racing: A fun 32 years of racing and still going strong
Strengths on the course: As soon as I hit land, love to hammer the bike and run
Goals for 2019: I am gonna spend a lot of time on my Smart Trainer followed by a 10K, love Brick workouts. Looking forward to a flat, fast course at Eagleman 70.3 as well!
Nickname: Stieg
Height: 6 foot on my driver’s license, but know I’m shrinking
Family Status: Lives in Richmond, Va and has 2 sons; Karl 24 - just graduated from VT and has a Job!, Matt 22 at VCU
Favorite Races: Ironman FL and Chattanooga, Richmond Xterra, 2011 Du Worlds Spain, Hawaii Ironman
Favorite Race Moment: Crossing the finish line at Kona with my sons
Favorite Post-Race Food: Chocolate milkshake, turkey sub, chips and cold beer
Favorite thing when not swimming, biking, or running: Playing soccer, napping, playing trombone, drinking wheat beer and watching football
Favorite Food: Chicken, pasta, bacon, oatmeal raisin cookies and bacon and bacon!!
Favorite Countries Visited: Switzerland, Scotland, Germany and Tasmania, Australia
License Plate: H82SWIM